top of page
Search

When to Contact Your Doula

Most people have a hard time with the feeling of "inconveniencing" others by either waking them up in the middle of the night or making them drop everything at their beckon call. Please know, that as your doula, THIS IS WHAT I DO! In those last few weeks of your pregnancy, my phone is charged and on or near me at all times! I too, get ecstatic, and am here to share this birth experience with you to support you! So, how do you know when to call your doula?

If you think you are in labour, or are experiencing contractions call as soon as you can. Call me if your water breaks, even if you are not having contractions. If you believe you are in labour, but are not ready for me to come yet, I will want to keep in touch about every 2-3 hours to see how things are progressing and to offer suggestions.

If you are able to handle the contractions easily, do your best to try and sleep through them or even between them. This is one of the best things you can do since it may be awhile before you are able to sleep again.

As your doula, I will join you at your home when you feel that labour is picking up, getting intense and you need more support. This is typically when contractions are 4-5 minutes apart, lasting a minute for about an hour. However, your emotional state is more important to me than the frequency of your contractions. I will come when you feel that you need more support.

If you decide to head to the hospital before I have a chance to join you at your home, I will meet you there.

Point form notes of when to call:

  • In labour

  • Experiencing contractions

  • Water breaks

  • Labour is picking up

  • Labour is getting intense

  • Need more support

  • Contractions are 4-5mins apart, lasting a minute for about an hour

  • Head to the hospital

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page