top of page
Search

My Post Partum Journey

Just remember, birth isn't just about making babies. It's about making mothers and parents too.

I gave birth to my daughter, Blayke, in August of 2016 and not even two weeks after her birth, I began a steep, downward spiral of bad postpartum depression. I felt alone, even though I wasn't. I felt emotional and mental pain, and couldn't express how I felt in words. I isolated myself because I felt like a burden to others, or that my problems would bother them. I would go out [rarely] into public and talk with people, join in on mom groups with babies occasionally, smile and laugh, but I felt like I wasn't being genuine. I had completely lost myself and the joy I used to have in my life. I carried these feelings with me for a very long time. Wasn't this supposed to be the happiest time of my life?

In the past 6 months (September 2017 to February 2018), I had hit an all-time low, where I would have suicide ideology (imagining what people would do or if they would even think of me if I was gone), I would burst into tears for no apparent reason, I would feel sad and then angry, I would want to be alone all the time and pushed my partner away often. I was medicated with antidepressants, I was extremely constipated and wouldn't go #2 for at least 3 days at a time, had severe migraines and headaches... It was awful.


Back in April of 2017, I was introduced to a company called JuicePlus, which provides dehydrated whole foods (fruits & vegetables) in capsules; essentially the same as juicing but without the cost, mess and hassle. I fell in love with their mission to inspire healthy living and felt a calling to be a part of everything they do. I took it seriously in the beginning, but when I started spiraling into my mental and emotional darkness, I gave up.


I had given up on myself and everything around me.

In November 2017, I wanted to get out of my current state so badly! I had signed up to take a course to begin my doula journey, assisting births and providing support during postpartum. It sparked something in me, as I felt excited about something, which I hadn't felt in a long time. As I have been working on courses and schooling since November to further my knowledge to better serve families, I realized that this was in fact a passion of mine!


As of 2 months ago, my passion for health, wellness, and my doula career has grown immensely, giving me the drive to tackle each day. Throughout this time, I had started back up with my JuicePlus journey in December of 2017. I only had the Trio capsules on hand and my Complete shakes and felt noticeably different, physically and mentally, but not emotionally. I had heard that the Omega blend capsules were recently released in Canada, so I decided to try them as I loved everything JuicePlus has offered in their product line so far. Within 1 week, I EMOTIONALLY felt great! Making me feel like a WHOLE person again.


Mentally, emotionally and physically whole.

I had done some research to find out more about what exactly I was taking and fueling my body. And I was shocked to learn how poor nutrition GREATLY affects the body's levels. A lot of medical studies have reported that depression and anxiety have been directly related to food and the nutrients our bodies need. In terms of period cramping and PMS, proper nutrient intake can either lessen or eliminate these symptoms! WHAT!!! So why are prescription drugs and medications pushed first before natural trial and exploration?


It's crazy how I could have helped myself even a little bit if I had just stuck with taking my JuicePlus capsules and Complete shakes back in April of 2017. But in the end, I am so thankful that I invested in myself and my health, now I can really be the mother my daughter deserves, and serve families while assisting with birth and postpartum FROM EXPERIENCE!


Invest in yourself and your health because you matter!

I firmly believe that in finding a passion and a career I fell in love with, giving my body an ample amount of fruits and vegetables in homemade meals, as well as my capsules and shakes, collectively, SAVED MY LIFE! I had something I could focus on while I was building myself "from the ground up" - finding something you love to do can really boost your mood and can spark a fire in you that you never knew existed!


I am happy to announce that I do not take ANY medications, I have no menstrual pains or PMS symptoms, I am "regular", can't remember the last time I had a headache, and overall I feel FANTASTIC!


I am a better version of me, than ever before!!! If you know someone that is suffering from postpartum depression, mental or emotional illness and well being, take a look at what they are eating and putting into their bodies, you may help save their life! Postpartum depression affects dads too!


Final words of affirmation:

  • you are strong

  • you are a great parent

  • you are not alone

  • bad moments and hard days don't make bad parents

  • the decisions made by other parents do not dictate yours

  • your mothering body is beautiful

  • you are worth it

  • you are good enough

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page